High school experience

High school is our first insight to real society

The first place where we learn to behave in society is school. However, our first insight to real society occurs in high school, where children are no longer children, and we all start to have deeper thoughts about what’s going to be our lives like, what kind of people we want to be in the future and what are our perspectives of life.

When I look back at my high school experience, I can say that maybe I didn´t realize what I was living. I was getting to know the different facets of society, its diverse and complementary components, and how it all works even with my not-conscious participation. High school is the place where we first know the different kinds of people that compose real society. In this essay I want to share what I could see in high school and what I learned in it about society. I’m going to write about how I think my class mates saw me at that time, the different people stereotypes I saw, and how I realize that all of us play a fundamental and complementary role in society.

Some years ago, when I was in high school, I couldn’t stand the noisy people, so I always hanged out with a small group of the class, not precisely the popular ones, but people with whom I felt really comfortable. I always did my homework at time and got the best grades of the class. I wasn’t very talkative; in fact, I was really quiet almost all the time. I had a few friends, maybe just one or two, and with them I talked all I wanted to. So, I think my classmates maybe saw a bit me as a nerd, but mostly as a really shy and reserved person. I say this because I never look like the typical nerd stereotype (I mean, in physical appearance) since I have always been a person who likes to dress well. What most stood out of my personality was my silence. Therefore, I think in that time I represented the quiet people, the ones that seems almost invisible to the eyes of society.

As I was a solitary girl, I usually had time to watch my environment, the people around me. In my high school you could see the hardworking people, the ones that everyday put all their effort to succeed. There were also the cool and popular ones, those whose entire lives were focused on being pretty and perfect. On the other hand, there were the ‘mean boys’, I call them like that because they were always bothering others and laughing of them. However, there was also their counterparty, the people who were always helping others and being kind. I didn´t have the chance to see the famous stereotype of the ones that hadn´t good life experiences and turned into delinquents or criminals, like in the movie watched in class with the character of John Bender. But I know that that happens a lot too, and that it’s a reality in every part of the world. So, everyone has their reasons to be like they are, everyone has passed through different life experiences and because of that we turn out being different people. Like in high school, you can see a variety of stereotypes everywhere you go.

I realize that I, as a student, could see a lot of stereotypes and characters of the real world, and now I notice that all those people, all the pieces of the puzzle are necessary to complete the final scenery. We all are unique and fundamental to make this society work, and we have more in common than we think. Without the poor it wouldn´t exist the rich, without the criminals it wouldn´t exist the justice, without black, it wouldn’t exist white and all the colors in the middle. When we are at high school, we should respect everyone even though they may be totally opposite from us. We have to understand that all of us can contribute to society and that we are all necessary in this world.

Leave a Reply

